T-SQL Tuesday #61: Giving Back

https://sqlbek.files.wordpress.com/2014/05/tsql2sday150x150.jpg

Welcome back for another edition of T-SQL Tuesday!

This month, Wayne Sheffield (b|t) is our host! His chosen topic is Giving Back. More specifically, he asked each of us to think & blog about what we plan to do in 2015.

Chicago Suburban User Group

Coincidentally, Lowry Kozlowski & I toured our new meeting location at DeVry last night. Then over dinner, we started making various plans for the first half of 2015. We brainstormed about new ideas and how to better serve our User Group audience.

SQL Saturday Chicago

Volunteering at SQL Saturday Chicago a few years ago, wound up being a pivotal decision, which lead to many other awesome opportunities within the SQL Server Community. I am happy to count myself amongst the Organizing & Planning staff, and looking forward to a fantastic event in 2015!

Speaking

I’ve had a phenomenal time speaking at SQL Saturdays and User Groups in 2014, and have no intention of slowing down. My first presentation, Every Byte Counts, has far more interest than I ever could have imagined! I’m looking forward to presenting it to others throughout 2015. In fact, I’ll be starting 2015 with Nashville’s SQL Saturday in January! I have ideas for my next two presentations that I intend to develop & debut in 2015.

That’s a brief outline of my plans to give back to the SQL Server community in 2015. Thank you to everyone in the community, who have given something to me. I encourage all of you to give back in some way. You don’t have to do anything extravagant. Consider volunteering at a SQL Saturday or User Group… or hang out on Twitter & chime in on #sqlhelp questions that you can answer! We all benefit and grow by being a part of this community!

One thought on “T-SQL Tuesday #61: Giving Back

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.